← All financing records

Partnership / Reviewed release

Microsoft / OpenAI strategic partnership — third phase announced January 2023

A record of disclosed terms and participants. Each assertion is linked to its supporting evidence.

Sourced disclosureLatest disclosure · 29 Oct 2025

Financial terms

Amount not disclosed

Amounts describe different obligations and are not additive. A commitment is not cash drawn; a commercial contract is not a guarantee. Unstated terms remain unknown.

01

The parties

    Legal entities and vehicles are shown separately. A role does not establish the amount funded or the scope of recourse.

    02

    Terms, with the evidence

    Separate observations, not an additive total. Disclosure dates, observation dates and effective periods retain their original meaning.

    Economic status

    contract.economic_status

    strategic_partnership_announced

    issuer context resolves "we" to MICROSOFT CORPORATION; announced third phase of strategic partnership; date stated only as January 2023, so no complete calendar date is provided; no financial amount disclosed | Normalization: Source-confirmed recovery after manual review of the full retained passage. Preserve the original failed fact in the recovery manifest; this is not a provider success, new billed attempt, approval, or publication. The source names a Microsoft/OpenAI strategic partnership but does not establish directional participant roles; no participant role is emitted. The January 2023 third-phase announcement is kept on the exact imported 2023 phase record, distinct from the later 2026 partnership record. | Source fact date unknown

    Disclosed
    30 Jul 2025
    Observed as of
    Not disclosed
    Effective from
    Not disclosed
    Effective to
    Not disclosed
    SupportsMicrosoft CorporationNot disclosed
    In January 2023 we announced the third phase of our OpenAI strategic partnership.

    edgartools-evidence-v2/bundle:35

    Economic status

    contract.economic_status

    strategic_partnership_announced

    third phase of strategic partnership announced; counterparty OpenAI Global, LLC (“OpenAI”); announcement stated as January 2023 (month-year only); first-person voice resolved to Microsoft Corporation; not completed | Normalization: Source-confirmed recovery after manual review of the full retained passage. Preserve the original failed fact in the recovery manifest; this is not a provider success, new billed attempt, approval, or publication. The source names a Microsoft/OpenAI strategic partnership but does not establish directional participant roles; no participant role is emitted. The January 2023 third-phase announcement is kept on the exact imported 2023 phase record, distinct from the later 2026 partnership record. | Source fact date unknown

    Disclosed
    29 Oct 2025
    Observed as of
    Not disclosed
    Effective from
    Not disclosed
    Effective to
    Not disclosed
    SupportsMicrosoft CorporationNot disclosed
    In January 2023 we announced the third phase of our strategic partnership with OpenAI Global, LLC (“OpenAI”).

    edgartools-evidence-v2/bundle:138

    Economic status

    contract.economic_status

    strategic_partnership_phase_announced

    third phase of strategic partnership; announced in January 2023 month/year only; no economics disclosed | Normalization: The source explicitly states Microsoft announced a third phase of its OpenAI strategic partnership in January 2023. Use a distinct 2023 phase record rather than the later amended 2026 partnership record; use no investor, issuer, borrower, lender, guarantor, beneficiary, or legal-identity role not stated by this source. | Source fact date unknown

    Disclosed
    25 Apr 2024
    Observed as of
    Not disclosed
    Effective from
    Not disclosed
    Effective to
    Not disclosed
    SupportsMicrosoft CorporationNot disclosed
    In January 2023 we announced the third phase of our OpenAI strategic partnership.

    edgartools-evidence-v2/bundle:137

    A permanent address. A dated record.

    Cite the disclosure.

    This address follows the record as coverage develops. Include the release identifier when citing the version you read; this page is not an immutable historical archive.

    Edition
    Reviewed release · sec-nvidia-msft-reviewed-20260908
    Generated
    2026-09-09T08:42:57.056Z
    Dataset SHA-256
    d4a82ffcabca4fa3b043890406ac837cc2024f9596a61de6d4e6cf14613191bb